Old Testament book categories

Old Testament book categories


The books of the Old Testament are routinely categorized into four main groups.  These are:

Books of the Law

The creation narrative, Abraham through his great grand-children, Covenant of the Law, Exodus from Egypt, wandering in the wilderness, the Mosaic law.


The history of the nation of Israel, great men of faith (David, Elijah, Nehemiah, etc.), Kings of Israel and their acts, Israel in bondage, Israel restored.

Poetry and Wisdom

Lessons in God’s sovereignty, worship, praise, prayers, remorse, wisdom and a love story.

The Prophets

The future foretold.  Prophesies of Jesus, prophesies of the end times, and prophesies of Israel’s fate and future eternal restoration.


Matthew 22:37-40 “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. 40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.”



Printable version (PDF Format)